There are No Dumb Questions

There as some things that I know for certain I cannot and will not ever be able to do. I can’t tell left from right (if I didn’t pick this skill up in preschool, it’s too late for me now), I can’t write poetry (my creative writing teacher will attest), and I cannot teach. It doesn’t matter what the concept is or how simple it would be to explain; if you ask me, you’re definitely not about to learn. I’m too impatient to explain things. I hate it when people ask too many questions. To me, even one question is way too many.

That said, I’m really glad Drake didn’t take me, his closest confidant, into consideration while recording HYFR. There are some hard hitting, relevant, and absolutely necessary questions asked on that track. They demand answers. Do I love this shit? (Yes.) Am I high right now? (I’m at work, so it’s definitely not the ideal time.)

But Drake isn’t the only one out there making the most salient inquiries. Which leads me to the crux of this discussion: What are the most important questions we’ve ever been asked, collectively, in the form of music? Well, let me tell you:

I’m so glad you asked, Zombies. I don’t have an answer, but it’s great that this has been put out there. Honestly, I find myself repeating this in my head kind of often. Questions that can also serve as mantras are usually the way to go.

It’s a good thing Mark Hoppus asked me this so early on in my life, because if I had never thought to seek out the answer to this question, I would’ve been pretty lost when it came time to fill out my first standardized test grid. Not to mention all the job applications, medical forms, and government papers that I’ve needed the answer to this question for. Look within and answer it for yourself, too. You won’t regret it.

Hopefully. Well, probably, but I really couldn’t tell you for sure. Write your congressman.

  • Drake ft. Lil Wayne – HYFR: Do you love this shit? Are you right now? Do you ever get nervous? Are you single? I heard you fucked your girl, is it true? You getting money? You think those niggas with is with you?

Okay, so even though I’ve already spent around one hundred words discussing the first two questions, I really don’t think there’s much to say here. In a lot of songs, the question is asked in the title. In HYFR, the title is the answer. Drake’s not trying to confuse anyone here, he’s a face value type of guy. Did he fuck his girl? Hell yeah, fucking right. Is he getting money? Hell yeah, fucking right Drake’s getting money. End of story.

Leave a Reply

